Smart Voices, Be Heard
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: A change in life
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:38 pm 
Policy Wonk

My wife has been offered an early retirement package from her job.
Our children have both gone off to College.
Our niece has gone off to College, and our nephew will go next fall.
Our SIL has moved into her own apartment. 13 years of cohabitation has come to an end.
My job, although I am an IT Admin again, is still at apay a scale half what I had been earning. It is much better then Lowes, so I will be thankful to be back in IT but I am not as attached as I had been previously.

My wife and I both took the election results pretty hard. We also are growing tired of Ohio's politics. We have been looking at Nevada as a possible site for relocation. My wife has been approached about a job in Las Vegas with a progressive company (if there is such a thing) and as I said I am not married to my current company.

Anyone from Las Vegas area? Can anyone tell us the political climate?

Post subject: Re: A change in life
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:05 pm 
Board Emeritus

why did you pick LV over reno....sorry, i reread the wife got job offer in LV. got it.
of the western side of the great basin id say that LV and reno are about the most prog areas
despite and inspite of the load of mormon hoohah.

there is only one nearly prog place in all of AZ....tuscon. the rest of AZ is drowning in
LDS who try to capture as many navajo as they can. dont kid yourself on sedona.
pretty for short visits.

Post subject: Re: A change in lifes
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:26 pm 
Policy Wonk