Family Research Council actively advocates for women to die.

News and events of the day
Libertas

Family Research Council actively advocates for women to die.

Post by Libertas »

https://www.dailykos.com/stories/2022/9 ... men-to-die

Earlier today, one of the biggest lobbying outfits in Washington- the Family Research Council, which has provided model legislation and fiscal and logistical support to politicians across the country, issued a statement- which I will not be linking to- stating that "Abortion is never necessary to save the life of a mother."

This is so dangerously false, I am outraged that the social media platforms it was posted on didn't immediately delete that statement, nor- as I write this- have they yet.

I'm an emergency department nurse. Emergency departments provide a staggering amount of OB/GYN care to patients who are unable to seek primary care services, which, I'm sure I don't have to remind people here, is a serious problem in our country. And if you have an ectopic pregnancy- which are 2% of all pregnancies!- or your water breaks at 16 weeks, or you have a septic uterus, you will end up in the ER, preferably sooner rather than later, because the longer we wait, the more likely the patient is to die.

Well, hold on, because I want to be stunningly clear here: that's the only option. If you have an ectopic pregnancy, you either get an abortion, or you die. There is no other option. There is no alternative. If you are reading this post, you know multiple people who had ectopic pregnancies, who would now be dead had they not sought treatment.